Adventures

Adventure Time: Rabbit Mountain

Date: Wednesday May 25, 2017

Adventure: Rabbit Mountain

Rabbit Mountain is a fairly easy adventure. It’s a drive up John Street Road, left turn onto Belrose Road and right into a “parking lot” on Marlwood Road. Following your park job, it’s a short “hike” (I think of it as more of a walk) up the road to the top of the Mountain where you get the most beautiful view of the North end of Thunder Bay (Port Arthur) and a wonderful view of The Sleeping Giant, a view that doesn’t make it look so giant.

Hiking Superior has other directions about the Rabbit Mountain Lookout Loop linked here.

Due to how easy the trek up Rabbit Mountain is I’m not going to go too in depth with it. I brought water, hot tea, flip flops, a sweater and a flashlight (because it was sunset). I find it to be more of a place you go to relax than a place to hike and such.

For me, my experience at Rabbit Mount is always calming. I walk or drive there with my dog, on my own, with friends. I’m an avid visitor of the mountain.

However, this time felt very different. I went with a friend who I had met during my time back in Thunder Bay during reading week. He’s very intelligent and passionate about nature, specifically plants… he’s also an artist!

Plant expert and artist on the left there! (follow @naturalworks3 on Instagram)

This trip to Rabbit Mountain had more of a learning experience tied to it. Not totally about plants though because I forgot all the information within 5 minutes of learning it. The learning was more about myself. This short drive with green tea and apple cider to sip on, plus the great great company got me thinking. I am exactly where I need to be in my life right now and I am happy. This really clicked for me while I was laying down parallel to The Sleeping Giant. My mind was racing at a million miles a minute. Then I took a deep breath looked at over at The City of Thunder Bay and the surrounding area and thought: “There’s so much of this small city I have yet to discover and THAT is all I need to do right now!”

Sure the life I’m going to start building in Toronto will be AMAZING but I’m living for the moment and right now my heart and mind are in the lovely little city I call home.

Until next time!

-Vince

Gotta stretch the toes!

 

Photo my friend took of me

 

 

 

Ps. I’m sorry I’ve been a shitty blogger the last month!

Leave a Reply

